One Word

Thanks to Dan, here’s a writing game that’s pretty darn fun courtesy of One Word. You have one word, and write about it for sixty seconds. I don’t like it, but, I’m not going to like everything I write.

Our route through Cleveland took us around the city. No one actually went into town anymore, since the entirety of Cleveland was more or less it’s suburbs, and nothing else.

I watched it approach and seconds later, disappear in the mirror. I wasn’t sorry to see it go. My route took me through Chicago now.

4 thoughts on “One Word”

  1. I think you’re really well suited to microfiction — you get to the point quickly and you have a certain way to make it feel poignant or significant or both, as is the case here. The only issue I have here is a very minor one: no apostrophe in the possessive “its.” That aside, it’s good. I’d be interested in seeing more from you about Cleveland (or what places you know well).

  2. Aye. I posted it, unedited. Why I took the time to put in an apostrophe when I new it didn’t belong, I have no friggin’ idea.

    1. Um, when I “knew” it didn’t belong.

      Can’t help pointing it out, I was going to be an English teacher! I have noticed you use “it’s” when you want “its” a lot in your writing, though. If you ever need a proof-reader, let me know :)

      1. All of this is unedited. It’s just raw, throw-it-at-the-wall and see what sticks writing. So, I’m not too concerned with spelling errors, so long as it’s grammatically correct.

        That said: I have a few consistent issues when I write: it’s and its (which is better than you’re and your or two, too, to, for damn sure) is one of the major ones.

Leave a Reply

